Active@ UNDELETE Ver 2.0
See documentation for latest version
When building a custom console, assign the console one of two general access options: author mode or user mode. There are, in turn, three levels of user mode, so that there are four options for default access to a console:
Author mode access is not necessary for users who do not create or change MMC consoles. A system administrator can configure user profile settings to prevent users from opening MMC in author mode.
Configure these options in the Options dialog box in MMC. Assign author mode to a console to grant full access to all MMC functionality, including the ability to add or remove snap-ins, create new windows, create taskpad views and tasks, add items to the Favorites list, and view all portions of the console tree.
By assigning one of the user mode options, authoring functions are restricted. For example, the User mode - full access option allows access to the console tree and all management commands, and restricts access to adding or removing snap-ins or changing the console properties.
Changes made in author mode are saved differently from those made in user mode. When closing the console in author mode, there is a prompt to save changes. When closing a console in user mode, changes will be not be saved.
For more information about MMC, consult the following resources: